Talking To Official People

Bleh! I get scared having to talk to Official People! Like, y’know, people who wear suits and speak posh. It takes me way out of my comfort zone.

I had to message my union today. I know, it could be worse, at least I didn’t have to talk to a bank manager or one of those estate agent people, or, worse, a lawyer.

But anyway, I’m about to enrol on a Masters course but my university said I can get a discount on my fees IF I’m a union member. And technically I am a union member. And obviously, I want this discount, who wouldn’t? But I don’t have a “union representative” (as far as I know) because I’m not currently employed. And my university says I have to have a chat with my union representative about my course :gulp: AND get my union representative to sign a form :panic:

I’d love to just forget all about it, but it’s an £800 reduction IF I can actually get it. That’s a lot of money! So I have to try, right?

But this meant I had to contact my union to see if any of this makes sense to them. A task which I have procrastinated about and put off and stayed awake thinking about for the past week.

Oh, and I hate phones! I cannot speak on the phone, I get all nervous and can’t keep my tone level and I make strange noises like a fish :blub blub blub: … So, finally, I worked up the courage to email my union. But what typically happens when I email Official People is they respond with “give us a call!” :faint: Why bother having an email address if I still have to call you?!  How am I supposed to explain all this verbally? I start blubbing like a fish just thinking about it.

So now I’ve sent the email, I’m terrified of checking my emails and seeing “give us a call!”. Also, I feel like a dumb-ass for having to ask them if I have a union representative or not. I don’t really know much about unions, except that as a newly qualified teacher I was eligible to join one for cheap, so I did.

Even if they get back with good news (which they probably won’t, knowing my luck!), I’m still going to have to talk to an official person either live or over the phone in order to get my form signed :shudder: and I have limited time to do this in :puke:

I try to imagine Official People as being human just like the rest of us… but I can’t! I see them as other-worldly beings who have the power to vaporise me if I displease them. Eek! But I guess I can’t avoid checking my emails forever… I just have to think that in a month’s time I won’t even remember all this. There are some benefits to having a bad memory!

Leave a Reply

